Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Love & Loss: The Austin Series Book 5

From the Publisher: Physically scarred and emotionally tormented, Gabe struggles to deal with the way his accident is affecting his future and relationship. Mia is resolved to stand by her man, no matter what, and she reaches out to her father to try and resolve some of her fears in order to move forward with Gabe. The results of their meeting are both shocking and illuminating, helping her take a major step in her healing process.

Lexi struggles with the pressures of her past affecting her relationship, as well as her University workload, and is forced to re-evaluate what she actually wants from her life.

The Campus Killer continues to evade the authorities and potential tragedy looms when he strikes too close to home.

My Review: This is the 5th book in The Austin Series and it has so much going on! I'm going to have to say right now that if you haven't read the first four books (Well, five if you include the prequel, Destined), you need to STOP reading this post HERE!!!

As with the other books, this one picks up where The Honeymoon Period left off. Mia is in the car park (parking lot to us Americans ;)) not sure what the heck is happening. The last thing she remembered before closing her eyes was somebody coming up behind Gabe and attacking him. Once she gets up enough courage to open them and help her man, she realizes the attacker is Doug! He is there to help her since he knows Gabe is not himself at the moment. He tells her to go to her apartment and he'll take care of Gabe. Of course, this is after Mia and Gabe say hurtful things to each other and Mia tells him she needs a break and for him to snap out of whatever the heck is going on or she can't see him anymore. He hears that as her wanting out for good and loses it, hense Doug stepping in since Gabe was really pissed off and grabbed Mia's arm and held it really tightly, not letting go even though she was begging him to.

This sets into motion a few days of them being apart. Mia not wanting to contact Gabe since she feels she's the reason his moods and temper have been bad and him not wanting to contact her because he feels that she wants nothing to do with him since he hurt her. But they can't stay away from each other for too long, due to the fact that they are both madly in love and Lexi and Doug stepping in since they both know Mia and Gabe are miserable without each other :) Upon getting back together, Gabe admits that he needs help with his anger and the fact that he is so possessive of Mia. She also agrees that she will continue her therapy with Dr. Jarvis to try and get over her fear of commitment and trust issues with men.

That's just the tip of the iceburg with what goes on in this book! Here are some more key highlights:

-Mia meets up with her dad and that relationship is finalized...what's the verdict? Will they reconcile and form a relationship or will it end for good?
-Gabe's father, Robert, introduces his girlfriend, Sofia, to Gabe. Will he accept her as part of his father's life, or have nothing to do with her since he can't believe his dad is dating anyone?
-Gabe and Mia move in together! Will this help ease her fears about getting married, or will she be content in her situation and not want to take that next step?
-Lexi still has commitment issues of her own. Can she put those fears to rest and trust in Doug's love enough to stay with him, or will she leave him to go back to the comfort of one night stands?
-The Campus Killer is still on the loose and no one knows who he is or when he will strike again. With Mia wanting a little more freedom to take on a part-time job, will Gabe let her out of his sight? And if so, will she be the next victim?

Those are only some of what this book touches on! I, in no way, can go into all the details of what lies in store for the reader and don't want to!! If you are caught up on the previous four books in this series, then what are you waiting for?? Get this one and start reading! You will not be disappointed, trust me. I can't believe how these characters have progressed and what a great job Fallowfield (the author) has done with this series. It's hard to believe that there is just one more book to go.

Click here to purchase on Amazon!

                                                                         *****5 Stars!

No comments:

Post a Comment